Category Archives: Best Before

Best Before CD

Crass Records Cat. No. 5 CD


Best Before 

Crass Records CAT. No 5

Best Before 1984 is a compilation of Crass’ singles and other tracks, released in 1986, including lyrics and a booklet (“…In Which Crass Voluntarily ‘Blow Their Own'”) which details the history of the band in their own words. The album was named in reference to the notion that 1984 was the band’s ‘sell by date’, the year that they had often publicly stated that they would split up. Indeed the band ceased gigging and recording in that year.

A1 to A3 – 1977; A4, A5 -1979; B1 to B3 – 1980; C1 to C4 – 1982; C5 – 1983; D1, D2 – 1983; D3 to D6 – 1984 C1 (Flexi) D6 (Last gig, Miners’ benefit, Aberdare, Wales)

  • A1) Do They Owe Us A Living?
  • A2) Major General Despair
  • A3) Angela Rippon
  • A4) Reality Asylum
  • A5) Shaved Women
  • A6) Bloody Revolutions
  • B1) Nagasaki Nightmare
  • B2) Big A Little A
  • B3) Rival Tribal Rebel Revel
  • C1) Sheep Farming In The Falklands
  • C2) How Does It Feel?
  • C3) The Immortal Death
  • C4) Don’t Tell Me You Care
  • C5) Sheep Farming In The Falklands
  • D1) Gotcha
  • D2) You’re Already Dead
  • D3) Nagasaki Is Yesterday’s Dogend
  • D4) Don’t Get Caught
  • D5) Smash The Mac
  • D6) Do They Owe Us A Living?